Time For A Quickie

bow-chika-nom-nom

Shaw’s 24th Birthday Coconut Rice Pudding

So, today is my big brother’s birthday (everyone wish him a happy 24th, despite the fact I momentarily hate him for going to see Eric Clapton without me) and I wanted to make some sort of dessert thing for him. Now, what I really wanted to do was bake a cake or something, but cake takes far too long and I didn’t have the ingredients for it. My housemates and I have, however, been talking about making rice pudding for ages. And even though I’m not sure if my brother even likes rice pudding, it’s not like he’s going to be the one eating it.

Anyway, so I decided that I was going to use this recipe from Alton Brown (because that guy is seriously a g), but halfway through I realized that I didn’t exactly have the correct ingredients, but it turned out pretty nicely. It was a little thicker than normal Indian rice pudding, but as long as it’s edible, right? Ingredients:
2 cups cooked long grain rice
2 cups non-fat milk
1/2 cup heavy cream
3/4 cup coconut cream
1/2 cup sugar
2 cardamon seeds

Optional:
1 bar of chocolate

1. Cook yo rice. If you have a rice cooker, you can use that. If not, just follow the directions on the bag. Even though I have a rice cooker, I decided to try and make rice with a pot just so that I could say that I did.

2. Pour in the milk and turn the heat to medium. Mix it around and wait for it to start bubbling. Once it does, turn the heat down and let it simmer for a few minutes until the mixture thickens a little.

3. Add in the coconut cream and heavy cream. I only used coconut cream because I bought it thinking it was coconut milk, so if you have coconut milk, that’s probably better. It’s probably the reason mine didn’t turn out as watery as it usually is. Turn up the heat to medium and

4. Turn up the heat to medium and use a whisk to mix in the sugar and the cardamon. The cardamon isn’t super necessary if you don’t have it. It’ll still taste delicious without.

5. Keep mixing until the pudding becomes the desired consistency. I prefer my pudding cold, so I let it cool at this point, but if you like scalding hot rice pudding, go ahead and nom.

OPTIONAL STEPS:

6. Since it was my brother’s birthday, I decided that I wanted to make him a chocolate decoration and I remembered I had this partially eaten chocolate frog. So I decided I would melt it down and make some decorations with it.

7. When melting chocolate, fo sho use the double boiler method. Putting chocolate on direct heat is a sure fire way to burn your chocolate and I will find you and murder you if you waste your chocolate like that. Just saying.

8. Break up your chocolate into smaller pieces and put it into a bowl. Put that bowl on top of the boiling water. Make sure the bottom of the bowl is NOT touching the water. At this point, you should also turn down the heat to low.

9. Let the chocolate slowly melt. Don’t be hasty and try to turn the heat up, because if you heat the chocolate too quickly, the consistency will become gross and you want it to be smooth and delicious.

10. So once the chocolate was melted, I used a spoon to shake the chocolate into numbers and let it cool on some foil. You can do whatever with it at this point. You can even dip strawberries or other fruit into and make chocolate-covered whatever. Making chocolate covered rice pudding balls even sounds pretty good, in retrospect… But just make sure to thoroughly cool the chocolate before pealing it or the pieces might just crumble and then you’ll be sad. And I’ll be sad for you.

For mine, I just made the decorations for the top and I also put a layer of chocolate between two layers of rice pudding for a tasty chocolate filling. It turned out pretty good, if I can say so myself…

3 responses to “Shaw’s 24th Birthday Coconut Rice Pudding

  1. Sindhoo March 2, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    …Is that the chocolate frog I gave you?!?!

  2. Josh March 3, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    This was dericious!

Leave a Reply

